If you can’t keep up…get out of the weigh!

30 May

So folks, last week was ottawa race weekend!! And …I survived!

I discovered a few things from my first 10k.

1) I hate evening races. I get so nervous and worked up before a race that my stomach is in knots. This is fine to wake up to and deal with in the morning before something like a 9am start. Let’s be honest, once the gun goes off and your legs start pumping all the nerves disappear and you just focus on the rhythm of the run.

2) Trust in your training. I trained consistently and yet I was still so nervous about meeting my sub 60 minute goal. However, when I crossed the finish line at 56:41 I realized how silly that was!

So now, on to the next! My 1/2 marathon is coming up in September and training started this week…I got one run in before I slipped and hurt my foot messing around in the house…oh well. One day off and back to it! Stay the course. 🙂

20130530-124512.jpg

Leave a Reply

