Making Friends Along the Weigh

26 Feb

Today, and most days actually, I was reminded of how lucky I am to have a group of incredibly fit and active friends. It make staying on (or getting back on) track so much easier! It also makes creating new gym playlists incredibly easy as I can often ask them for their current favourite gym jams. They are a great resource for new classes, routines and most importantly, and ever-present source of encouragement. A few of us will even be running a 10k together in May and a half marathon in September.

They are always encouraging me to try new things or, like this weekend, participate in active events. This weekend me and a few friends will be participating in the GoodLife Spin 4 Kids (http://goodlifekids.akaraisin.com/common/Event/AboutUs.aspx?seid=6233&mid=58) – this is a great fundraiser that raises funds in support of getting kids active! PLUS – we get our spin class in on the weekend, get to hangout together and, of course, get a t-shirt!

Also, I have a friend I have convinced to be my “accountability buddy”. Basically, each week we tell each other our workout plans for the week and it makes us more accountable (than we would be just to ourselves). Seeing how great she does and how committed she is never fails to encourage me to go even harder! She is around for runs and outdoor bodyweight workouts when the weather is nice and helps me stay away from treats if I text her in my moment of temptation! Her support is invaluable to me and I know she appreciates my motivation (especially when I’m yelling at her during a training session) and putting together challenging and creating workouts for us to do together helps me push myself out of my comfort zone.

Are you lucky enough to have a group of fitness addicts surrounding you (like I do?) or are you challenged by the temptation your friends present? How do you motivate your besties (and vice versa) to get off the couch and get moving?

4 Responses to “Making Friends Along the Weigh”

  1. Christine February 26, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

    I’m super glad I met you along my weigh… And I thank you for your continued song suggestions and fitness support.

    • thodgin February 26, 2013 at 5:16 pm #

      Right back atcha!!!

  2. Leigh March 6, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

    Thank you for being my motivation, I can’t wait for you to kick my ass this summer!! Xo

    • thodgin March 7, 2013 at 12:52 am #

      I can’t wait to kick it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

